Took a Train

Took a train to New York City
a smelly guy sat by me the whole time
watching every little thing that I would scribble in my notebook
I felt a headache coming on
I felt the world getting warmer and warmer
the doors opened to a land of fire and chaos
The city never sleeps,
Dragon’s breath bounced between the towering buildings
searching for a breeze, searching for a view above the hustle and bustle
there is no more freedom above the city than there is among it.

Took a train to Washington D.C.,
a pretty girl sat next to me the whole time
not noticing any little thing that I would scribble in my notebook
I felt a heartbreak coming on
I felt the world getting bigger and bigger
the doors opened and I was hit with colors and sound
The city sang in harmony, their hearts beat in unison
Our hands reached as high as our bodies would allow,
desperate to catch a handful of hope
as it fell like rain from the sky
Longing for a split second of peace, for a hint of reciprocation
but there is no more freedom above us than there is among us

Took a train to Pennsylvania….

Leave a Reply

