GloWorm

Each day I learn of things I thought I truly needed, but only wanted.
Each day I learn of things I thought I only wanted, but truly needed.
These days I have to say that I’m wanting less.
These days I have to say that I’m needing less.
I’ve really hit a stride with this reckless abandon.
As frail as I am I am finding that your chains are not so heavy
Your cold not so bitter.
The spaces in my heartbeat are no longer deaths silent knocks,
but fresh air in my lungs
in a world of pollution
I can taste sweet freedom
The kind of heat that doesn’t make me sick.
There is a place where I can be in the sun
Where people sing my songs
There is a place where I can feel you

Though we make the best out of these bodies
searching for the rush, searching for pleasures
We were not created for this kind of containment
Our spirits far exceed our shells.
One day we will all shine with the kind of light that we are truly meant to.

Until then none of us are home.

And so I spend day after day saving up all my light,
buried in small rooms, painted black, blankets on the windows
saving every glimmer of my soul
so that when it’s finally my time to shine
there will be no mistake..

Anyways,

Take anything you’d like,
nothing I’ve ever owned was ever mine anyways.

Leave a Reply

